News & Events

Simmons Students Awarded Deborah Feldstein Bartfeld Memorial Scholarships

August 7, 2013

For the 2013-2014 academic year, 11 current Simmons SSW students have been awarded scholarships from the Deborah Feldstein Bartfeld Memorial Scholarship Fund, part of Key Program Inc.'s Alternatives for Youth Foundation.

The Key Program, Inc. (Key) is a non-profit organization serving multi-stressed families and youth in residential, community and clinic settings throughout Massachusetts and Rhode Island. Key Program also has a supporting foundation, the Alternatives for Youth Foundation (AYF), that awards scholarships for students in graduate-level social work, mental health counseling and counseling psychology programs. Past recipients have been students of Boston University and Boston College;Wheelock, Simmons, Springfield and Assumption Colleges; Salem, Framingham, Westfield and Bridgewater State Universities and Rhode Island College.

The AYF scholarship program was created in 2004 to honor and memorialize the daughter of one of Key's longest-standing Board of Directors members and current Board President, Edward Feldstein. The Deborah Feldstein Bartfeld (DFB) Memorial Scholarship Fund is dedicated to Deborah Feldstein Bartfeld to honor her career in the field of social work. Deb began her experience in social work as an intern at the Key Program's southeastern MA/RI region. She was a 1997 graduate of Lesley University and received her MSW degree from Boston University in 1999. Deborah was a clinical social worker at the Massasoit School in Braintree, MA when, in 2003, she lost her battle with cancer at the young age of 28.

Since the inception of the DFB scholarship program in 2004, AYF has awarded 197 graduate school scholarships with awards totaling $1 million dollars to part- and full-time graduate students in MSW, mental health counseling and counseling psychology programs.

The Simmons Students receiving awards for the 2013-2014 academic year include:

  • Lakisha Austin
  • Leah Able
  • Catherine Bates
  • Emilia Campbell
  • Aqueela Culbreath-Britt
  • Walter Higgs III
  • Jeffrey Horowitz
  • Dametres Hutchinson
  • Katie Piper
  • John Wyatt Posig
  • Tegan Walsh