Skip to this page's content

Home » Undergraduate College » Admission » Political Science & International Relations » The Warburg Chair in International Relations

The Warburg Chair in International Relations

The Warburg Chair in International Relations

Established with the help of a generous grant from Joan Melber Warburg '45, widow of James P. Warburg, the Warburg Chair in International Relations brings to Simmons a distinguished practitioner who has had significant experience at a responsible level in international relations. The Warburg professor normally remains for a two or three-year term. He or she joins the interdisciplinary program in international relations, encompassing the fields of political science, economics, history, women's studies, and foreign languages, and sits on the Steering Committee of that program. The Warburg Chair teaches the senior seminar in international relations in the fall and a special topics course in the spring. The Chair also holds occasional luncheon seminars with faculty, staff, and students and organizes other programming throughout the academic year, such as a lecture series or an academic conference.

Current Warburg Professor: William M. Bellamy

The Warburg Professors have included:

  • 1983-1985 Robert E. White, former U.S. Ambassador to Paraguay and El Salvador.
  • 1985-1988 David Anderson, former U.S. Ambassador to Yugoslavia.
  • 1988-1990 Monteagle Stearns, former U.S. Ambassador to Greece.
  • 1990-1991 Elizabeth Pond, eminent writer and journalist.
  • 1991-1993 Harry G. Barnes Jr., former U.S. Ambassador to Chile, India and Romania.
  • 1993-1995 Frank Crigler, former U.S. Ambassador to Somalia.
  • 1995-1998 Denis McLean, former New Zealand Ambassador to the United States.
  • 1998-2000 Erik Jensen, former Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations.
  • 2000-2004 Charles F. Dunbar, former President of the Cleveland Council on World Affairs.
  • 2004-2007 Walter C. Carrington, former U.S. Ambassador to Nigeria and Senegal.
  • 2007-2010 Thomas Hull, former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Sierra Leone.
  • 2010-2012 Catharin Dalpino, former U.S. Deputy Assistant Secretary for Democracy.